How to Merge Facebook Accounts

Every now and then people ask us How To Merge Facebook Accounts or even more Facebook accounts. Currently do not get your hopes up! The fact is, it is not possible to instantly merge Facebook accounts. However, there are workarounds.

While Facebook does not provide a method to auto-merge all your friends, pictures, condition updates, check-ins or other details, you could manually merge parts of your accounts. All it takes is a little preparation and also patience. Unfortunately, you will not be able to migrate or re-create all your Data.


How To Merge Facebook Accounts


Mass Download Data

As an initial step I advise to mass download your Facebook Data, a treatment I have explained previously. This procedure can take some time and also the archive will function as a minimal back-up, must you choose to shut down or delete your account. It won't be of great aid in recovering any kind of Data, however.

Briefly, go to your General Account Settings as well as click Download a copy of your Facebook Data at the bottom.


This will certainly lead you to a web page where you could download your info and obtain a copy of exactly what you have shared on Facebook.


Currently do start your archive on this first web page. Additionally locate where it claims You could also Download a broadened archive ... and click the particular web link. This will certainly assist you to the Expanded Archive Download web page where you will be asked to re-enter your password.


Now below is where you will certainly need persistence. Depending on how huge your main as well as your broadened archive are and also the amount of other archives are in the queue, this can take some time. And also with that said I indicate a number of hours.

Keep in mind that you have to Download both archives, to get a full backup of your account!


Once your archive is offered for download, this is what the page will appear like.


Although your personal images are expected to be consisted of in the archive, you must download your Facebook Photos separately. Not only is this procedure another back-up, it is also a great deal faster and could supply you with more choices.

Restore Friends

As pointed out over, you won't be able to Restore or migrate all of your Data which includes your friends. You should manually add friends to your brand-new account. Unfortunately, it is not feasible export your Facebook friends to a 3rd party account and afterwards re-import them to a brand-new Facebook account.

However, you could import get in touches with from 3rd party accounts such as Skype or Gmail. So if you have contact information of a lot of your friends on accounts beyond Facebook, you can take a tiny faster way. Go to your brand-new Facebook account and also import calls from any type of supported 3rd party account (CSV files are also supported) by means of the Discover Friends page.


While you could export your Facebook get in touches with to Yahoo! Mail, it is not be feasible to re-import them to Facebook. And contacts imported from Facebook will certainly not be consisted of in a Yahoo! CSV file.

I created a separate post on ways to support your Facebook contacts. Note that only call info of friends who have agreed to have their email address included in details downloads can be imported into your Yahoo! account.

Restore Account Data

Right here comes the big disappointment. There is no other way to post or otherwise import your archive to Restore or move Data from your old Facebook account to your brand-new one. Whatever you intend to Restore, you need to do it (semi-) by hand or use 3rd party tools. Today, the archive just works as a personal backup, absolutely nothing more.

So exactly what are your alternatives? You can re-add your old friends as revealed above, re-upload pictures you downloaded from your old account, re-tag your friends in your images, re-join teams you were a member of, re-add Facebook apps, manually re-do all your personal Settings, consisting of basic account and also personal privacy Settings, e.g. secure your Facebook account, include relied on contacts, or hide your individual Settings. I desire I had great news, yet as I claimed before, you could not auto-merge two accounts or Restore Data, so you essentially go back to square one.

What You Will certainly Shed

You will shed a whole lot! Your entire Timeline and also Information Feed history will be gone, including blog posts or photos you were tagged in, locations you checked into, all the Sorts you provided or received, or teams you were a member of, all your account and privacy Settings, and other records you accumulated gradually. Your images and also friends are really all you can take with you, everything else has to be re-created by hand.

Deactivate or Close Your Old Facebook Account.

If you choose to shut down or shut your old Facebook account, make certain to add your brand-new account as an admin to any Teams or Pages you manage. Or else you will lose accessibility to them.

As soon as you have taken care of admin roles, have actually downloaded all your Data, as well as are sure you wish to entirely remove your account, log right into the Facebook account you wish to close, and also check out the Remove My Account web page to start the procedure. We have actually formerly described How To Effectively Shut Your Facebook Account.

Final thought

Facebook allows you to Download an archive of your account. However, there is no matching system in place to restore your Data, must the account obtain compromised. Facebook never ever planned to give a restore attribute; rather they were lawfully forced to use a method for individuals to download their Data. Therefore, individuals are entrusted nothing but half-baked solutions or uncomfortable workarounds, must they desire to merge or move accounts.

Exactly what would trouble you most if you had to move to a new Facebook account?